Tags

, , , , , ,

^ What I wish my new year looked like…

I love lists. I love making them, probably a lot more than I enjoy following through and actually doing the things I’ve set myself. Anyway, New Year is one of my favourite times of the year. I love the sense of possibility and excitement. For me, nothing is worse than being trapped in boring routines, and New Year is the perfect time to shake up my lifestyle and break out of old habits.

Before I look at my resolutions 2015, I want to go back and evaluate how my 2014 resolutions panned out first.

  1. Read 60 books: well, this was a total fail. Looking at my Goodreads account, I only managed 22 (I think because, being at university, I’ve been reading a lot of very long classics, and just generally have had less time to read)
  2. Write a Sense and Sensibility vlog series and get it made: Check. Elinor and Marianne Take Barton is done and currently being uploaded to YouTube. You can watch it here
  3. Write ten articles for the Boar (University of Warwick student newspaper): Check and double check! Looking back I wrote: a tribute to Joan Fontaine after the actress’ death, a countdown of the best BBC period dramas, a review of Belle (2014), a piece about the Australian TV show Dance Academy, a review of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, review of What If (2014), an interview with Daniel Radcliffe (pretty cool), a review of Virgin and an interview with the author, Radhika Sanghani, plus reviews of Love, Rosie (2014), Serena (2014) and Mockingjay: Part One (2014) – clearly going on a bit of a Jennifer Lawrence binge! Plus, I also contributed to six collaborative articles.
  4. Do an exercise class every week: *laughs nervously* Moving on…
  5. Cook a meal from scratch ever week: I managed this pretty well until exams came up, then it pretty much just collapsed
  6. Write three short stories: I did manage this one! I wrote The Start of Snow (a high fantasy story about a queen trying to adjust to her arranged marriage and new kingdom), A Clockwork Heart (a steampunk story from the perspective of a clockwork girl) and Second Position (about a competitive young ballet dancer who keeps coming second, in ballet and in love)
  7. Keep a list of all movies/TV shows watched this year: I failed at this until my friend made me join Letterboxd which is basically Goodreads for films. So now I have a profile and am pretty good at keeping track of the films (if not the TV) I am watching
  8. Pass second year exams: Check (thankfully)
  9. 15 minutes of creative writing every day: I am checking this one off because although I didn’t write every day, I’m sure that if you added up the total, I went way over 15 mins times 365

Not bad, I feel. Onto 2015…

  1. Pass my third year of university
  2. Procrastinate less
  3. Read 23 books (a more manageable target, here’s hoping)
  4. Start a blog
  5. Complete three screenplays (either feature film or mini-series)
  6. Be happier (I plan to do this by appreciating the ‘Little Things’, making a list every month of small things which make me happy)

In an effort not to forget about these resolutions, I’ll be posting an update later in the year to see how I’m going with them!

xoxo Emily Rose


Image Credits: Header – Christopher Michel/Flickr

