Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In which I celebrate a group of characters who make me laugh and cry whilst not fitting into the box our society perceives as the “normal”. From jealous husbands to lovestruck teenagers, all these characters are fascinating, complex and unique.

I am very aware that I only had five characters, so there were many issues which I could not include, for time reasons. This video is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to diversity!

What are some fantastic diverse reads that I’ve missed out? Put your recommendations in the comments below.

D I V E R S I T Y
There is a fantastic campaign, “We Need Diverse Books” which you should definitely check out.

F I L M     P R O J E C T
You can read more about my film project, “The Stuff of Legend”, here.

Facebook     Twitter

B O O K S

Magnus Bane from “The Mortal Instruments” series by Cassandra Clare (Simon Pulse)

Tyrion Lannister from “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George RR Martin (HarperVoyage)

Lara Jean Song from “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” by Jenny Han (Simon & Schuster)

Will Traynor from “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes (Michael Joseph UK)

Othello from “Othello: The Moor of Venice” by William Shakespeare (Simon & Schuster)

M U S I C
“Cute” by bensound.com
“Indie Romance” by Silent Partners
Key words: diversity, intersectional feminism, ableism, shadowhunters, alec lightwood, warlock, demon, lgbtq+, homosexuality, discrimination, dwarfism, sansa stark, tywin lannister, korean american, hopeless romantic, peter kavinsky, lou clark, quadriplegic, assisted suicide, body autonomy, right to die, moor, desdemona, iago, cassio, jealousy, green eyed monster, racism, game of thrones


Image: Fluid Painting 57 by Mark Chadwick via Flickr (Creative Commons)

